Posted in Templates

Dodecahedron Template

Okay, so today during professional development, I saw some teachers making a cool dodecahedron project. I thought, “HOW COOL! I WANT TO DO THAT!” I came home and figured out a template and design and created my own. Talk about tedious! I researched to see the basic shape and saw that a lot of cool projects can be made using them!

I’ve created a blank template available at my TpT store, that link is below. Here are the basic instructions.

First, have students color and decorate according to your instructions BEFORE you cut, fold, and attach (I used glue, but a stapler or tape could be just as effective – and less messy). I cut and folded first before I wrote the note you’ll see below. Guess it’s a warning for me.

IMG_9077

Then, cut out the circles and fold along the dotted line.

Next, start to glue the pieces together. You can glue three flat before you add the fourth one at the top of the three. Once you glue the fourth one, the 3D begins to take shape. Keep gluing, stapling, or taping each rounded part as you go, connecting each piece. It will begin to take shape. Each rounded tab should be connected to the next rounded tab. I suggest trying it a few times first before starting with students in order to ensure you have the process ready to go to help students.

Once you’re finished, you end up with a pretty awesome, albeit big, decahedron. These would be great to have students write something positive about themselves on each side to hang up in the classroom! It would serve as a constant positive reminder. In the file, I also included a template that is half the size of the big template in case you have a lot of students! The tabs need to line up, but it does not have to be perfect. there may be small holes or places where the sides do not line up – don’t worry! It will still work as long as it is not COMPLETELY off-centered.

All done!

You can purchase this template for $1 HERE

Author:

I have been a teacher since 2010. I have a bachelor's in secondary English education and a Master's in educational administration. Teaching is definitely a passion (obviously). I love educating, and I really love getting to be creative, so I try to find opportunities for the two to come together so I can create new things and inspire my students to do the same!

Leave a Reply

